Police Officer Screening FAQs

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Quick Links

Police Careers
Becoming a Police Officer
Prepare for the police officer screening process

Minimum Qualifications for Police Officers in accordance with Texas Local Government Code include:
  • United States Citizen
  • At least age 21 at the time of testing
  • High school diploma or GED and completion of 60 hours from an accredited school, college or university with a grade point average of 2.0 or better. Hours must be completed by appointment and accreditation must be from an entity recognized by the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement (Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, Middle States Association of Schools and Colleges, North Central Association of Colleges and Schools, Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities, Western Association of Schools and Colleges, and New England Association of Schools and Colleges).
  • Vision correctable to 20/20 - no color blindness
  • Normal hearing
  • Must be licensable by the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement
  • Good moral character
  • Stable employment history
  • Valid Texas Driver's License (or able to obtain one)
  • Pass:
    Physical assessment test
    Written examination
    Psychological examination
    Medical examination with drug screen
    Background investigation
    Oral interview
    Polygraph test
    Typing test
  • A person who is 45 years of age or older may not be certified for a beginning position in the Police Department