Fines, Court Costs & Schedules

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

AmEx, Mastercard, Visa, and Discover acceptedContact municipal court office at (817) 788-7045 for questions or fine amounts not listed. Master Card, Visa, Discover and American Express credit cards are now accepted.

For more information on municipal court fines and fees, see our Online Records Search or our Online Court Payments.

Fine amounts updated: September 4, 2019

Driving

Offense Fine and Court Costs
Defective equipment $230.00
Disregard stop sign or red light $230.00
No Drivers license $180.00
Expired vehicle registration $210.00
Failure to control speed $230.00
Failure to yield $230.00
Following too close $230.00
Improper turns $230.00
No Seat Belt Driver or Passenger $174.00
Unrestrained Child under 4 years of age $149.00 -- 1st offense

Compliance Dismissals

If you have received a ticket for one of the following violations, you may be able to have that ticket dismissed by complying with the law in a timely manner and paying any fee designated by law:

  1. EXPIRED REGISTRATION TICKET:  Pursuant to Section 502.407 of the Texas Transportation Code, the Court will dismiss a charge of driving with an expired registration certificate if:  (a) the defendant obtains a current registration sticker for the vehicle within 30 days from the date of the ticket; (b) the defendant pays the penalty fee at the time the vehicle is registered; and (c) the defendant pays a $20 administrative fee.  This Court will NOT dismiss Expired Registration tickets if the new registration sticker is not obtained within 30 days OR if the penalty fee was not paid to the tax office.  This applies to a motor vehicle, trailer or semitrailer.

     

  2. EXPIRED DRIVER’S LICENSE TICKET: Pursuant to Section 521.026 of the Texas Transportation Code, the Court will dismiss a charge of driving with an expired driver’s license if: (a) the defendant renews his driver’s license within 30 days from the date of the ticket and (b) the defendant pays a $20 administrative fee.  This Court will NOT dismiss Expired Driver’s License tickets if the driver’s license is not renewed within 30 days from the date of the ticket.

     

  3. EXPIRED HANDICAPPED PARKING PLACARD TICKET:  Pursuant to Section 681.013 of the Texas Transportation Code, the Court will dismiss a ticket for Expired Handicapped Parking Placard if: (a) the defendant renews the parking placard within 30 days from the date of the ticket and (b) the defendant pays a $20 administrative fee.  This Court will NOT dismiss Expired Handicapped Parking Placard tickets if the placard is not renewed within 30 days from the date of the ticket.

     

  4. DEFECTIVE EQUIPMENT TICKET: Pursuant to Section 547.004 of the Texas Transportation Code, the Court will dismiss a charge of driving with defective equipment if: (a) the defendant shows proof to the court that the defective equipment was repaired or replaced within 30 days from the date of the ticket and (b) the defendant pays a $10 administrative fee.  This Court will NOT dismiss Defective Equipment tickets if the equipment was not repaired or replaced within 30 days from the date of the ticket.  At the sole discretion of the court, acceptable proof may include a receipt for the repair or replacement of the equipment, photographs of the repaired equipment, or visual inspection of the equipment by an officer of the court.

     

  5. FAILURE TO CHANGE ADDRESS OR NAME ON DRIVER’S LICENSE TICKET: Pursuant to Section 521.054 of the Texas Transportation Code, the Court will dismiss a charge of failing to change address or name on driver’s license if: (a) the defendant shows proof to the court that his address or name was changed on his driver’s license within 30 days from the date of the ticket and (b) the defendant pays a $20 administrative fee.  This Court will NOT dismiss such a ticket if the defendant does not change his address or name on his driver’s license within 30 days from the date of the ticket. 

     

  6. FAILURE TO DISPLAY / IMPROPER DISPLAY OF REGISTRATION TICKET: Pursuant to Section 502.473 of the Texas Transportation Code, the Court will dismiss a charge of failure to display  registration or improper display of registration (meaning the vehicle, road tractor, motorcycle, trailer or semitrailer which is registered in Texas does not have a valid registration sticker displayed or does have a valid registration sticker, but it is improperly displayed) if: (a) the defendant shows proof to the court that the defendant has affixed a valid registration sticker to the vehicle as required by law within 30 days from the date of the ticket and (b) the defendant pays a $10 administrative fee.  This Court will NOT dismiss either of these tickets if valid registration is not affixed to the vehicle within 30 days from the date of the ticket.  At the sole discretion of the court, acceptable proof may include a receipt for the registration of the vehicle, photographs of the registration sticker attached to the vehicle, or visual inspection of the vehicle by an officer of the court. Note this section of the law only applies to a motor vehicle.  It does not apply to a road tractor, motorcycle, trailer or semitrailer.

     

  7. OPERATION OF A VEHICLE WITHOUT A LICENSE PLATE TICKET: Pursuant to Section 504.943 of the Texas Transportation Code, the Court will dismiss a charge of driving a vehicle without the proper license plates attached to the vehicle if: (a) the defendant shows proof to the court that proper license plates have been attached to the vehicle within 30 days from the date of the ticket and (b) the defendant pays a $10 administrative fee.  This Court will NOT dismiss Operation of a Vehicle Without a License Plate tickets if the license plates were not properly attached to the vehicle within 30 days from the date of the ticket.  At the sole discretion of the court, acceptable proof may include a photograph of the license plates attached to the vehicle or visual inspection of the vehicle by an officer of the court.

     

  8. OPERATION OF A VEHICLE WITH OBSCURED LICENSE PLATE: Pursuant to Section 504.945 of the Texas Transportation Code, the Court will dismiss a charge of driving a vehicle with an obscured license plate if: (a) the defendant shows proof to the court that the license plate has been cleaned or the obstruction removed within 30 days from the date of the ticket and (b) the defendant pays a $10 administrative fee.  This Court will NOT dismiss Operation of a Vehicle With An Obscured License Plate tickets if the license plate was not cleaned or the obstruction was not removed within 30 days from the date of the ticket.  At the sole discretion of the court, acceptable proof may include a photograph of the license plate attached to the vehicle or visual inspection of the vehicle by an officer of the court.

     

  9. FAILURE TO DISPLAY A DRIVER’S LICENSE TICKET: Pursuant to Section 521.025 of the Texas Transportation Code, the Court will dismiss a charge of failure to display a driver’s license if: (a) the defendant produces proof to the court that they had a valid driver’s license on the day of the offense and that the license was appropriate for the type of vehicle they were operating and (b) the defendant pays a $10 administrative fee.  This Court will NOT dismiss failure to display a driver’s license tickets if the defendant does not present proof to the court as detailed above. 

     

  10. VIOLATING A DRIVER’S LICENSE RESTRICTION OR ENDORSEMENT TICKETS: Pursuant to Section 521.221 of the Texas Transportation Code, the Court will dismiss a charge of violating a driver’s license restriction or endorsement ticket if: (a) the restriction or endorsement was imposed because of a physical condition that was surgically or otherwise medically corrected before the date of the offense or the restriction or endorsement was imposed in error by DPS and that fact is established by the defendant; (b) DPS removes the restriction or endorsement within 30 days from the date of the ticket and (c) the defendant pays a $10 administrative fee.  This Court will NOT dismiss this type of ticket is proof is not provided as detailed above. 

     

  11. NO INSURANCE TICKET:  Pursuant to Section 601.193 of the Texas Transportation Code, the Court will dismiss a no insurance ticket if: (a) the defendant provides written proof of valid insurance at the time of the offense and (b) the court is able to verify with the insurance company that the insurance was valid and covered the defendant and the vehicle he was driving. This Court will NOT dismiss this type of ticket is proof is not provided as detailed above.  Further, if a defendant sets his no insurance ticket for court, proof of valid insurance must be submitted to the court at least 5 business days prior to the court date. The defendant must provide a paper copy of their proof of valid insurance---an image displayed on an electronic device is not acceptable to the Court.

     

  12. NO CHILD SAFETY SEAT TICKET:  Pursuant to Section 545.412 of the Texas Transportation Code, the Court will dismiss a No Child Safety Seat ticket if:  (a) the defendant was not arrested at the time of the offense; (b) the defendant was not issued a citation for any other violation at the time of the offense; (c) the defendant did not possess a child passenger safety seat system in the vehicle; (d) defendant was not in an accident; and (e) the defendant provides written proof to the court in the form of a receipt that subsequent to the time and date of the offense, he obtained an appropriate child safety seat for each child required to be secured in a child passenger safety seat system under the law.  The Court will refer to its own records with regard to (a), (b), (c) and (d).

Speeding - Regular Speed Zones

  • Fine is calculated at $5.90 for the first mile and $5.00 per mile per hour over the posted speed limit.
  • + $124.10 court costs

Speeding - School Zones

  • Fine is calculated at $10.90 for the first mile and $10.00 per mile per hour over the posted speed limit.
  • + $124.10 court costs

Speeding - Construction Zones With Workers Present

  • Fine is calculated at $5.90 for the first mile and $5.00 per mile per hour over the posted speed limit.
  • Then fine amount is doubled
  • + $104.10 court costs

No Insurance

  • Fine and Court Costs
    • First offense: $300.00
    • Each subsequent offense: $520.00
    • Third offense: $1020.00

Pursuant to Section 601.193 of the Texas Transportation Code, the Court will dismiss a no insurance ticket if: (a) the defendant provides written proof of valid insurance at the time of the offense and (b) the court is able to verify with the insurance company that the insurance was valid and covered the defendant and the vehicle he was driving. This Court will NOT dismiss this type of ticket is proof is not provided as detailed above.  Further, if a defendant sets his no insurance ticket for court, proof of valid insurance must be submitted to the court at least 5 business days prior to the court date. The defendant must provide a paper copy of their proof of valid insurance---an image displayed on an electronic device is not acceptable to the Court. 

Fines & Court Costs

The amount of fine the court assesses is determined by the facts and circumstances of the case. Mitigating circumstances may lower the fine, even if you are guilty. On the other hand, aggravating circumstances may increase the fine. The maximum fine for most municipal court traffic violations is $200 plus court costs; for misdemeanor state law violations--$500 plus court costs; for certain city ordinance violations--$2,000 plus court costs; and for other city ordinance violations--$500 plus court costs.

Pursuant to Texas Local Government Code Section 133.103, the Court is required to collect a $25 fee on each conviction for which "time to pay" is granted. If any part of the total amount of fines, fees, and court costs is paid on or after the 31st day, that time payment fee will be assessed per state statute.

If a warrant is issued, the fine may increase, and an additional $50 fee is also assessed.

If your citation is in warrant over 60 days, an additional 30% fee will be added to each case being sent to collections.

Juvenile Information

Information About Teen Court