City Council

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option





Henry Wilson
(Place 3)
Cindy Shepard
(Place 7)
David Booe
Mayor Pro Tem
(Place 1)
Larry Kitchens
(Place 2)




Cathy Thompson
(Place 4)

Bill McLendon
(Place 5)

Jon McKenzie
(Place 6)


"The legislative and governing body of the City shall consist of seven Councilmen, one of whom shall be designated as Mayor, and shall be known as The City Council of the City of Hurst."

(a) The city council shall consist of seven (7) members, and the person elected as councilmember place 3 shall be the presiding officer and shall be known as the mayor of the City of Hurst. The mayor shall be elected at each biennial election by popular vote and shall serve a period of two (2) years or until the election and qualification of his successor. The mayor pro-tem shall be elected by a majority vote of the city council from among their members at the first meeting following the annual city election.

(b) The seven (7) councilmembers shall be elected to individual places, designated by number, from the city at large and each shall be elected by a majority vote of the qualified voters voting at the election.

(c) Each councilmember shall hold office for a period of two (2) years and until a successor is duly elected and qualified.

(d) In each odd numbered year three (3) councilmembers shall be elected and in each even numbered year four (4) councilmembers shall be elected. Places 1, 2 and 6, shall be elected in odd numbered years and places 3, 4, 5 and 7 shall be elected in even numbered years.

- Hurst Charter, Sec. 3.01.

Number of Members Seven

"A quorum at any Council meeting will be established by the presence of at least five
(5) members." - Hurst Charter, Sec. 3.08.

Term Two Years

Regular meetings are held on the second and fourth Tuesdays of each month, with the 6:30 p.m. meetings preceded by a 5:30 p.m. briefing session.  Meeting times are subject to change, and may be verified on the posted agenda.

Special meetings and Public Works sessions are called on an "as needed basis."

All City Council meetings, with exception of Executive sessions called in compliance with the provisions of the Texas Open Meetings Law, are open to the general public.