Historical Landmark Preservation Committee

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option
The City Council has declared that as a matter of public policy, the protection, preservation and enhancement of landmarks of architectural, archaeological, cultural and historic importance is necessary to promote the economic, cultural, educational and general welfare of the citizens of Hurst. The Hurst Historical Landmark Committee is charged with the preservation of the unique identity of the City of Hurst and the history of the area prior to its founding, which produced significant historic, architectural, archaeological and cultural resources, and shall:
  • Protect and enhance the landmarks which represent distinctive historic, architectural and cultural elements of Hurst;
  • Foster civic pride in accomplishments of the past;
  • Protect and enhance Hurst's attractiveness to visitors, and support and stimulate the economy thereby provided;
  • Insure the orderly, efficient and appropriate growth and development of Hurst;
  • Promote economic stability and prosperity of the community by encouraging the most appropriate use of such significant property of Hurst; and
  • Stabilize and improve property values.

Hurst Code of Ordinances, Section 5-532

Number of Members: Five (5) members appointed by the City Council. The members of the Committee shall be one (1) Library Board Member, one (1) Planning & Zoning Commission Member, one (1) Parks and Recreation Board Member, one (1) City Council Member, and one (1) citizen-at-large, and one exofficio member. 
Meetings: Quarterly - 4th Thursday of the month at 6:30 P.M., Hurst Public Library
Quorum: A majority shall constitute a quorum.
Term: Two (2) Year Staggered Terms
The chair and vice chair shall be elected by and from members of the Committee annually.

Place 1
Name: Betty Whiteside 
Term Expires: 2018

Place 2
Name: Georgia Kidwell*
Term Expires: 2019

Place 3
Name: Carol J. Cole 
Term Expires: 2018

Place 4
Name: Larry Kitchens 
Term Expires: 2019

Place 5
Name: Billye Runnels-Jones
Term Expires: 2018

Ex Officio
Name: Charles Swearengen
Term Expires: 2018


* Chair
**Vice Chair

 Agendas & Minutes

April 2018 Minutes
April 2018
March 2018 Minutes
March 2018
February 2018 Minutes
February 2018
November 2017 Minutes
November 2017
January 2017 Minutes
January 2017
December 2016 Minutes
December 2016
September 2016 Minutes
September 2016
August 2016
April 2016 Minutes
April 2016
January 2016 Minutes
January 2016